Gone Girl

by cameronbarrettstewart

Directed by David Fincher
Written by Gillian Flynn
Based on the novel by Gillian Flynn

GoneGirl

I have been an enormous fan of David Fincher ever since 13 year-old me snuck a copy of Fight Club from my sister’s room and watched it on a 7 inch TV. Before Fight Club, movies had been only superficial pieces of entertainment to me. I had never thought about the potentially deeper messages of the movies I had seen. But Fight Club was a movie that challenged my young mind and even [GASP] tricked me! All of the sudden I had grasped the concept of the unreliable narrator. Now movies were not superficial to me, they were nesting dolls. Since then I have seen every David Fincher movie, except The Game (on my watch list) and Alien 3 (not on my watch list). As a fan, I am comfortable saying that Gone Girl is certain to please you if you are a fan of Fincher, and also possibly sicken you. Rest assured, no spoilers.

The film displays the same delicacy that I have seen in Fincher’s more recent endeavors (The Social Network, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, House of Cards). The way everything seems so meticulously arranged, on every level of the process, makes for an experience where you don’t want be distracted from it for a second. In a world where so many movies seem superficial, its nice to see reminders that filmmakers can trust the audience to pay attention and think, and not have to state everything for them. At the same time Gone Girl doesn’t place its hints with such difficulty that I felt like I was being intentionally misled. And the cherry on top of the whole movie is it’s incredible score, done by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, who also did the scores for Fincher’s The Social Network and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

When it comes to my opinion of the acting, I was never taken out of the movie by a bad performance. Although some characters, for example Amy’s Parents, seemed like they were being intentionally made to seem exaggerated. I could have done without this, considering the fact that the majority of the characters were shown to act very naturally, but it never detracted from the film. Any fear I might have had over the acting talents of Ben Affleck were quelled by this film. I admit at times I was carefully watching to judge his acting, and not once did he “mess up.” Rosamund Pike as Amy Dunne was simply amazing; it’s very rarely that a character feels so real to me. Her performance was of the same caliber of other contemporary “greats” like Daniel Day Lewis, Meryl Streep, and Kevin Spacey. It was only upon writing this review that I remembered that Pike had played Sam in The World’s End, and even now it’s hard to place that character alongside Amy in Gone Girl.

Carrie Coon, as the twin sister of Ben Affleck’s character, was also a standout. The interplay between the two characters was fantastic, and completely believable as brother and sister. And, in case you were wondering, Tyler Perry did just fine, although I kept hoping for him to break out into a little Madea (Sarcasm.)

Immediately after seeing the film I felt like a second viewing would be tough (the film was very emotionally draining), but as I reflect more, I really cannot wait to go back and see this movie again.

Cameron’s Rating: 9/10


What I listened to while writing this:

Istanbul (Not Constantinople) – They Might Be Giants

Gone Girl Score – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Movie Recommendations in relation to this review:

Fight Club

The Social Network

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The World’s End


If you have any movies that you want to recommend for me to watch or review leave a comment for me and I will get right on it ASAP.

